Faye MacDougall wins Provincial Library Award

Faye MacDougall (l.) and outgoing NSLA President Cindy Lelliot (r.)

The Nova Scotia Library Association (NSLA) is pleased to announce that Faye MacDougall, Regional Librarian with the Cape Breton Regional Library is the 2017 recipient of the Norman Horrocks Award for Library Leadership. This award recognizes library leadership in the Nova Scotia library community, and is given in recognition of distinguished contributions of lasting significance to the promotion and development of library service in Nova Scotia. According to the NSLA President, Ann-Marie Mathieu, “Faye MacDougall has demonstrated an impressive level of creativity in service delivery and programming initiatives, including many firsts. She has embraced the concept of community development through partnerships, and the list is long and diverse. She has championed the value of public libraries to the community. Her passion for and belief in libraries is always present, in everything she does, and Cape Bretoners are truly well served by her.” Ms MacDougall has worked for public libraries on the provincial level. She is a past-president of NSLA and has worked closely with other regional libraries to share resources and services. The Association believes that Ms MacDougall embodies leadership qualities, such as honesty, integrity, confidence, passion, innovation, and patience. Her contributions to the Cape Breton Regional Library have been, and continue to be, highly valued by the Cape Breton Regional Library Board, library staff, and the library users she serves, and make her a fitting recipient of Norman Horrocks Award. Ms MacDougall was presented with the award at the annual NSLA conference on Saturday, September 30, 2017.

This entry was posted in awards, board, conference and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *