Emile Theriault Award

Emile Theriault Library and Information Technology Award

The Emile Theriault Library and Information Tech-nology Award, established in 2006, recognizes the efforts of a library support staff member who has made a major contribution to their library community.

Emile Theriault was the first library support staff worker who served as president of NSLA.

Call for nominations to be issued by May 31 of any year.

Criteria for nominations as follows:

  • Nominations must include nominee name, address, telephone, fax and e-mail address, if applicable
  • Nominations must be made in writing and signed by two nominators, one of whom must be a current member of the Nova Scotia Library Association
  • Nominators are responsible for documenting the accomplishments of the candidate and for creating a package to support the nomination. Documentation as available and appropriate may be submitted.
  • Nominations must include two letters of endorsement (which may include ones from the nominators)
  • Deadline for submissions; May 31 of any year
  • Nominations to be sent to NSLA Past President
  • The nominee must work in a support staff capacity in a library in Nova Scotia .
  • Upon closing of nominations, a committee consisting of the Past President of NSLA , the Vice President of NSLA and one NSLA member–at-large will meet to Review submissions, ensuring that all criteria have been met. The member-at-large will be chosen by the NSLA Board of Directors on an annual basis. The Committee may recommend to the Board that the award not be awarded in any given year.
  • Award recipient will receive engraved plaque and a one year membership in NSLA.
  • Award to be presented by NSLA Vice-President at Annual Conference Banquet.
  • Award criteria to be posted to NSLA website.

For more information, contact:
Past President
NSLA Past President
Trecia Schell
182 Dalhousie St. PO Box 276
New Glasgow, NS
B2H 5E3

Previous Winners

2015 Jean Brown
2014 Verna DeViller
2013 Bev McGee
2012 Margaret MacLean
2011 Rachel Crosby
2010 Janet Ness
2009 Darlene Barrett
2008 Peggy Hiscock
2007 Lynne LeGrow
2006 Award established